Sometimes when you have usability issues when using Google Chrome, you’re asked to clear the cache.
Does your YouTube video keep buffering despite a speedy Internet connection? You may be asked to clear the cache as a possible fix.
Is your Chrome browser sluggish and loads pages slowly despite a fast Internet connection? Then you’ll be asked to clear your cache.
So, when you take action, you’re told that certain files will be deleted.
Not sure about this and don’t want to take the risk of losing ‘important files?
This post will tell you what you lose when you clear your Chrome cache and cookies.
What is Cache in Chrome?
Cache stores information about pages you visit, for example, images. This would include website headers and logos.
The pages on the website load faster the next time you visit them.
What are Cookies in Chrome
When you visit some sites certain files are created and stored in your browser.
Cookies are often used in affiliate programs. If you’re an affiliate, you’re given a certain ID to be used with the links of products you promote.
When someone clicks on the link, a cookie is created on their browser, containing your affiliate ID.
For example, on the Amazon affiliate program, the cookie lasts for 24 hours.
If the person orders a product through the link within that period, you’ll earn a commission.
If the order is placed after 24 hours, the cookie will not be active. You’ll not earn any commission.
What Gets Deleted When You Clear Cache in Chrome?
To clear the cache in Chrome, click on the 3 dots on the top right.
Next, select More tools.
Then choose Clear browsing data.
3 Clear Browsing Data Options
In the Clear browsing data panel, you’re given 3 options.
The first is to clear your browsing history. This will be a record of the web pages you have visited.
You may want to tick this option if you don’t want Chrome to remember the pages you have visited.
When you tick this option, browsing history on your other devices will be deleted as well. This happens if you have logged in to the same Google account on other devices.
Untick this, if you want to keep a record of the pages you visited. Browsing history is useful if you wish to return to one of the pages at a later time.
Otherwise, you may want to bookmark certain important pages before you clear your browsing history.
Cookies and Other Site Data
As mentioned earlier, sites may store certain information from your browsing activity on their pages.
An example will be login details or details of affiliate links you have used.
If you choose this option, you’ll be signed out of these sites.
The next time you visit them, you would have to sign in afresh.
Before you tick the Cookies and other site data, make sure you have the login details to access these sites.
Also, you don’t have to worry about Chrome signing you out of your Google account.
You’ll remain logged in to your Google account to use services like Gmail, Drive, and YouTube.
You would have to manually sign out of your Google account if you wish to exit these services.
Cached Images and Files
As mentioned earlier sites store information on your browser to help your pages load faster.
You may be worried that you may lose important files if you tick this option.
Well, you don’t have to worry. If you delete these images and files, the Chrome browser will not be affected.
Since information about websites you visit is deleted, certain pages will load slower. This is because images and files have to be cached again.
So, you don’t have to worry about deleting cached images and files, You won’t lose anything important.
When Should You Clear Your Cache?
Sometimes when you visit a site, a page doesn’t load well, or certain page elements are missing.
This is usually because the website may have updated its pages in the backend,
Since elements from the old page have been cached in your browser, there will be a conflict when it tries to load the new page.
When this happens, you ought to clear your cache. When you do this the new pages will be cached. Loading pages on the site will no longer be an issue.
Now you should understand what you lose when you clear your Chrome cache and cookies.